Wobay, Sankoh, Teteh & Crespo Kamara all in Sellas Tetteh’s squad for Sudan Afcon qualifier


Julius Gibrilla Wobay and Alfred Sankoh (pictured) have been recalled by Sierra Leone for the first time since the country’s disastrous 2015 Africa Cup of Nations group stage qualifying campaign.

Football Sierra Leone UK understands that Caretaker coach Sellas Teteh has named 13 foreign based players for Leone Stars must win game in two weeks hosting Sudan at the Freetown national Stadium slated for June 4, 2016.

Both former Khazar Lankaran players were left out of the squad prior to the Leone Stars trip to DRC Congo in 2015 qualifiers due to injuries.

Since then both players has been outstanding for their respective clubs. Wobay, 31, this weekend will get his hands on the Slovenian title after the league final match day.

Sankoh, 27, was part of the Balıkesirspor winning team that secured a spot in the Turkish Football League One play-off and he hoping to help his side gain promotion.

Also missing from previous matches due to long term injuries are GAIS Striker Teteh Bangura and Orebro goal poacher Alhassan ‘Crespo’ Kamara.

The Former AIK striker, Teteh Bangura last played for Leone Stars in a 2-0 home victory against Seychelles during the 2015 Nations Cup preliminary July 19.

Whereas Kamara, 23, was part of the Leone Stars squad that played almost all the matches in the 2015 qualification group stage.

Football Sierra Leone has been informed that the full list of invited players local and international will soon be release after some of the Foreign-based players confirm their availability.

The Sudan tie will be Sierra Leone’s third international football match after the deadly Ebola virus that ravaged hundreds of lives. Victory for the Leone Stars will move them behind Ivory Coast in the group standings.

Sierra Leone 13 Foreign-based list below to face Sudan:

France: Solomon Zombo Morris FC Quevilly

Belarus: David Simbo, Krumkachy Minsk and Skipper Umaru Bangura – Dinamo Minsk.

Finland: Abdul Sesay – OPS, Medo Kamara – HJK Helsinki and Hassan Milla Sesay – FC Lathi.

Sweden: Alhassan ‘Crespo’ Kamara – Orebro and Ibrahim T Bangura – GAIS.

China: Mohamed ‘Pobosky’ Bangura, Dalian Yifang

Germany: George Davis – Gruther Furthe

Turkey: Alfred Sankoh – Baliksespor

Serbia: Mustapha Haji Bangura – Borac Cacak.

Slovenia: Julius Gibrilla Wobay – NK Olimpija.

Follow the writer @bittar32/Contact bittar@footballsierraleone.net


Website Visitors


Sierra Leone 1-0 Sudan | Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers 2017

Football's Coming Home' / Reporter Amjata Bayoh



FSL On Facebook Page

Facebook By Weblizar Powered By Weblizar