The Nigerian Super Falcons have emerged champions of Africa again after beating Cameroon 1-0 in the finals of the 2016 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations on Saturday.

In front of Cameroon president Paul Biya, the Cameroonians were aiming to win their first title and also avenge their 2014 defeat by Nigeria, but Desire Oparanozie only goal was enough for the Falcons to defeat the host in a nervy final match played at the Ahmadou Ahidjo Omnisports Stadium in Yaoundé.

The win means Nigeria secure their eight African titles. The Falcons coach, Florence Omagbem is the first individual to win the AWCON as a player and a coach.

Ghana finished third in the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations after beating South Africa in the third-place match on Friday at the same stadium.

The international women’s continental competition was first held in 1991 when teams competed for the trophy over several months. It was the same format in 1995.

Since 1998, however, it has been held as a tournament every two years, with eight teams taking part. Cameroon is hosting this one, the 10th edition.

Teams are divided into two groups of four, with the top two sides advancing straight to the semi-finals.

Cameroon, who have never won the competition, qualified as hosts and were joined by Nigeria, Ghana, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Egypt, debutants Kenya and Mali, who replaced Equatorial Guinea after they were disqualified for fielding a player using fraudulent documents.

Nigeria are the continent’s dominant force. Only one other nation, Equatorial Guinea, has won this tournament, coming out on top in both 2008 and 2012.


Premier League Table 2022/23


FSL Media archives


FSL Media on Twitter

Nigeria 🆚 Sierra Leone | Highlights - #TotalEnergiesAFCONQ2023 - MD1 Group A