Newly appointed Ghana head coach Kwesi Appiah has announced a strong side to face Ethiopia in next month’s 2019 Africa Cup of Nations opening qualifier.

Ghana will battle in Group F alongside Sierra Leone, Kenya, and Ethiopia, in the qualifiers for a place in the 2019 Afcon to be hosted by Cameroon.

The re-appointed Kwesi Appiah has kept faith with regulars such as captain Asamoah Gyan and the Ayew brother, Andre and Jordan.

However, he has left out Newcastle forward Christian Atsu, Granada CF winger Mubarak Wakaso, Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu and Razak Brimah from his 30-man selection in readiness for their opener against Ethiopia on 11 June to be played in the second city of Kumasi.

But, Appiah has given Abdul-Majeed Waris, the striker overlooked by former coach Avram Grant for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations finals in Gabon, a chance to revive his international career as a Black Star.

He has also included seven players from the domestic league in a squad that will also play friendly internationals against the United States and Mexico.

The Black Stars will travel to the US for a date with Mexico in Houston, Texas, on (28 June) and the US in Connecticut (1 July).

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Wa Allstars); Adam Kwarasey (Brondby, Denmark); Felix Annan (Kotoko); Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA); Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England); Lumor Agbenyenu (Munich 1860, Germany); Daniel Darkwah (Aduana Stars, Ghana); John Boye (Sivasspor, Turkey); Rashid Sumalia (Al Gharafa, Qatar); Nicholas Opoku (B.Chelsea, Ghana); Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew, USA); Jerry Akaminko (Eskiserhispor, Turkey); Samuel Sarfo (Liberty, Ghana)

Midfielders: Mohammed Abu (Columbus Crew, USA); Afriyie Acquah (Torino, Italy); Isaac Sackey (Alanyaspor, Turkey); Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Ebenezer Ofori (Stuttgart, Germany); Kingsley Sarfo (Sirius, Sweden); Winful Cobbinah (Hearts of Oak); Yaw Yeboah (FC Twente, Holland); Godsway Donyoh (Nordjaelland, Denmark); Andre Ayew (West Ham, England); Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium); Thomas Agyepong (NAC Breda, Holland)

Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (Al Alhi, UAE); Jordan Ayew (Swansea City, England); Majeed Waris (Lorient FC, France); Raphael Dwamena (FC Zurich, Switzerland)

Only the winner in this group will join the host country in the final tournament as well as the best 3 runner-ups in all 12 Groups.


Premier League Table 2022/23


FSL Media archives


FSL Media on Twitter

Nigeria 🆚 Sierra Leone | Highlights - #TotalEnergiesAFCONQ2023 - MD1 Group A