Africa’s formidable side, Super Falcons of Nigeria, will open their FIFA Women’s World Cup against Olympic champions Canada at the Melbourne Rectangular Stadium on Friday. 

Of course, Group B has been coined this year’s version of the Group of Death alongside co-hosts Australia and the Republic of Ireland.

Game 1: vs. Nigeria, July 20, 10:30 p.m., in Melbourne.

Boasting a talent-studded squad headlined by Barcelona’s Asisat Oshoala, Atletico Madrid’s Rasheedat Ajibade, and Sevilla’s Toni Payne, only a few nations outdo Nigeria in terms of quality, even though in recent times, that strength of quality has proven not to be enough as the nine-time African champions are slowly losing grip of their monopoly on the continent of Africa.

Canada, on the other hand, won historic back-to-back bronze medals at London 2012, Rio 2016 and a gold medal at Tokyo 2020. They are surely a force to reckon with.

Canada are reigning Women’s Olympic Football Tournament champions and heads to the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023™ with a new level of confidence.

Asisat Oshoala, who is a five-time African Women’s Footballer of the Year, is set to lead by example when they tackle Canada. Global soccer fans eagerly waiting for such a mouthwatering contest between the two nations.

Group stage (kick-off times are local and are subject to change)

 20 July

Group A – New Zealand v Norway 19:00, Eden Park (Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau)

Group B – Australia v Republic of Ireland 20:00, Stadium Australia (Sydney/Gadigal)

21 July

Group B – Nigeria v Canada 12:30, Melbourne Rectangular Stadium (Melbourne/Naarm)

Group A – Philippines v Switzerland 17:00, Dunedin Stadium (Dunedin/Ōtepoti)

Group C Spain v Costa Rica 19:30, Wellington Regional Stadium(Wellington/Te Whanganui-a-tara)

Premier League Table 2022/23


FSL Media archives


FSL Media on Twitter

Nigeria 🆚 Sierra Leone | Highlights - #TotalEnergiesAFCONQ2023 - MD1 Group A